Policy Council of the Board Bearden Banquet Hall, 5806 Kingston Pike Knoxville, Tennessee 37923 June 8, 2021

The Policy Council of the East Tennessee Human Resource Agency Board of Directors held their regular Policy Council Meeting on June 8, 2021, at the Bearden Banquet Hall, Knoxville, Tennessee.

The following Board members were present:

Trey Dykes Cocke County Mark Potts Jefferson County Joe Brooks Claiborne County Jeff Tibbals Scott County Terry Frank Anderson County Ed Mitchell Blount County Crystal Ottinger Cocke County Bill Brittain Hamblen County E.L. Morton Campbell County Brian Langley Morgan County Jason Bailey Union County Mike Byrd Grainger County Larry Waters Sevier County Glenn Jacobs Knox County Omer Cox Oliver Springs, TN Ron Williams Farragut, TN Jeremy Faison State Representative

## PUBLIC COMMENTS

Chair Trey Dykes opened the meeting and asked if there were any public comments. There being none, the meeting was called to order.

## CALL TO ORDER

The Chair, Trey Dykes, called the meeting to order.

## AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS

Ms. Jessica Stewart presented the Amendment of the ETHRA Bylaws with regard to the changes made and signed into law by the Governor of Tennessee. She explained that in order to remain in compliance of the law and statute, the ETHRA board would consist of 21 members. The 21 members would be comprised of the 16 County Mayors, 3 Municipal Mayors and 2 State Representatives. Ms. Stewart also explained that the other city mayors would serve on an advisory council and would meet at least once annually along with consumers and providers. In addition to these positions, a member of the Agency's Public Housing Authority Resident Advisory Board shall be appointed. This position's voting authority shall apply only to decisions related to HUD Housing Programs, and thus, this board seat shall not be counted when determining whether a quorum has been met to conduct Board business when said business has no relation to HUD Housing Programs. MOTION: TO APPROVE THE AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS AS PRESENTED. A MOTION WAS MADE BY BILL BRITTAIN AND WAS SECONDED BY E.L. MORTON. THE MOTION PASSED.

#### NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The nominating committee met prior to the Board Meeting and unanimously suggested the following city mayors: Trey Dykes, Omer Cox and Ron Williams to serve on the ETHRA Board along with the 16 county mayors for FY 2021/2022.

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE THREE (3) NOMINATIONS OF TREY DYKES, RON WILLIAMS AND OMER COX AS PRESENTED. A MOTION WAS MADE BY BRIAN LANGLEY AND WAS SECONDED BY E.L. MORTON. THE MOTION PASSED.

#### MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

Minutes of the previous meeting were mailed and e-mailed to members as part of the agenda package.

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES AS WRITTEN. A MOTION WAS MADE BY TERRY FRANK AND WAS SECONDED BY CRYSTAL OTTINGER TO APPROVE THE MINUTES AS WRITTEN. THE MOTION PASSED.

## FINANCIAL REPORT

Mayor Jeff Tibbals, Treasurer, presented the financial reports for the period ending April FY 2021. Mayor Tibbals asked if there were any questions regarding the financial report. There were no questions.

MOTION: TO ACCEPT ETHRA'S FINANCIAL REPORT FOR THE PERIOD APRIL FY TERRY FRANK. THE MOTION PASSED.

### EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Mr. Holiway offered his sincere gratitude to the Policy Council Members for their service and asked that they continue their support, input and participation.

Mr. Holiway requested a cost of living raise of 3% for those employees whose program could support the increase. He also asked the board for a one-time payout of \$500 for those programs that could not sustain a 3% pay increase. He noted that the \$500 one-time payout for Community Corrections would be a \$250 payout from Community Corrections program with a match of \$250 by ETHRA to total \$500. The 3% increase was included in the 2021-2022 budget.

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE 3% INCREASE FOR THE PROGRAMS THAT COULD SUPPORT THE PAY RAISE AND THE ONE-TIME PAYOUT OF \$500 FOR THOSE PROGRAMS THAT COULD NOT SUSTAIN A PAY INCREASE. MOTION WAS MADE BY LARRY WATERS AND SECONDED BY ED MITCHELL. THE MOTION PASSED.

Mr. Holiway reported on the sick leave fund and requested that the sick-leave conversion again be approved and to continue at the 50% level.

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE SICK-LEAVE CONVERSION AT THE 50% LEVEL AS PRESENTED. MOTION WAS MADE BY E. L. MORTON AND SECONDED BY TERRY FRANK. THE MOTION PASSED

Mr. Holiway invited all board members to the annual HRA Training that would be held on August 24 - August 27, 2021, in Franklin, Tennessee.

Mr. Holiway also mentioned that the  $25^{\rm th}$  Annual Smoky Mountain Justice Conference was scheduled for November 1 - 5, 2021, at the Edgewater Hotel, Gatlinburg, Tennessee. He invited everyone to attend.

# OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

# ADJOURNMENT

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MARK POTTS TO ADJOURN. TERRY FRANK SECONDED THE MOTION. THE MOTION PASSED.

Rilad Dh TAD

7/13/2021

Date