Press enter to search

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) is a federally funded, means-tested entitlement program that provides certain low-income individuals and families with a monthly benefit that they can use to buy food.

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)



The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service, or FNS, oversees SNAP; however, each state determines eligibility and delivers the benefits. Generally states must follow the federal guidelines of the program, although there are options state agencies may use to help meet the needs of eligible individuals and families in their states. 

Most households must meet an income and a resource test for SNAP> However, some people are automatically eligible for SNAP because they get:

  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Public or General Assistance
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

Explanation of Services 

SNAP offers nutrition assistance to millions of eligible, low-income individuals and families and provides economic benefits to communities. SNAP is the largest program in the domestic hunger safety net. The Food and Nutrition Service works with State agencies, nutrition educators, and neighborhood and faith-based organizations to ensure that those eligible for nutrition assistance can make informed decisions about applying for the program and can access benefits. FNS also works with State partners and the retail community to improve program administration and ensure program integrity.


SNAP Information    

SNAP Benefits Fact Sheet

Application and Local Office Locators

USDA Non-Discrimination Statement



Alice Mounger

(865)691-2551 ext. 4233





This Project is funded under an agreement with the State of Tennessee.

This project has been funded in part with federal funds from the US Department of Agriculture.  The contents do<

Counties Served

Regional Office, Blount County, Claiborne County, Campbell County, Anderson County, Knox County, Morgan County, Cocke County, Grainger County, Hamblen County, Jefferson County, Loudon County, Monroe County, Roane County, Scott County, Sevier County, Union County