Press enter to search

Area Agency on Aging and Disability

Responsible for Developing an Advocacy and Service Delivery System in East Tennessee for Persons Age 60 and Over and for Persons with Disabilities

 Area Agency on Aging and Disability


The majority of services provided through the Area Agency on Aging and Disability (AAAD) are for persons over age 60 who are in greatest economic and social need. With the Options for Community Living Program, the AAAD may serve persons with disabilities 18 years of age and older based on a functional needs assessment.

Top 3 Goals

  1. To advocate for additional resources at the local, state and federal level for the development of a comprehensive home and community based support system for persons with functional limitations.
  2. To provide quality services to all persons served by the AAAD.
  3. To protect the rights and dignity of older East Tennesseans and support independent living opportunities for vulnerable adults.

Explanation of Services

As a regional office, we administer funds to provide group and home delivered meals, homemaker services, personal care services, legal services, ombudsman services, limited transportation services, information and assistance services, case management, Medicare insurance counseling services, health promotion services, senior centers, county offices on aging, and public guardianship services. These services are provided directly and through a number of service provider contracts in the region.

 Download the Aging and Disability Community Resource Guide



Area Agency on Aging and Disability



Federal and State funds are made available through the Tennessee Commission on Aging and Disability and the office also receives funds from local governments and contributions from service recipients.

Counties Served

Regional Office, Blount County, Claiborne County, Campbell County, Anderson County, Knox County, Morgan County, Cocke County, Grainger County, Hamblen County, Jefferson County, Loudon County, Monroe County, Roane County, Scott County, Sevier County, Union County